About Us

About Us


The Council For Fair Business Practices was set up in late 1960s by a group of eminent businessmen to name a few such as Mr. J.R.D. Tata, Mr. Ramkrishna Bajaj, Mr.Arvind Mafatlal, Mr. S.P. Godrej and others.  The main objective was to have a self-regulatory body of businessmen so as to protect the interests of the consumers by ensuring that businessmen follow fair business practices.  It serves as a bridge between the customers and manufacturers.  It caters to both manufactured products & services sector.

The main activity of the Council is educating and creating awareness among both businessmen / professionals and consumers about their respective rights, duties and obligation through workshops,seminars, publications, audiovisual presentation etc.  A number of such programmes are conducted each year.

We have been recently recognized and extended aid by Dept. of Consumer Affairs Ministry of Food & Public Distribution (New Delhi) for the purposes of stepping up redressal of consumer complaints and conducting education programmes for the benefit of consumers.

CFBP has a Consumer Grievances Redressal Committee to receive and address the consumer complaints vis-à-vis commercial complaints. The Consumer Grievances Redressal Committee of the CFBP consists of eminent Consumer Activists as its members.  Complaints received by CFBP are first screened on merits.  In the next stage CFBP writes to the complainee for comments, with a view to arriving at a solution.  If required both the parties are invited for a meeting at CFBP in an attempt to bring about a mutually acceptable settlement. CFBP acts as a catalyst and helps promote dialogue, compromise and resolution of the dispute by conciliation rather than confrontation. The Committee has formulated rules & regulations for handling the complaints.  A Panel of Members, which includes retired Judges, has been constituted. Mr. Justice D. R. Dhanuka (Retd.) and Mr. Justice B. B. Vagyani (Retd.), besides Prof Chandra Krishnamurthy, Vice Chancellor of SNDT Women’s University, Shri Bharat Gupta, Smt. Asha Idnani & Smt. Nargis Wadia are among other Panel Members.   A legal cell comprising leading consumer lawyers headed by Mr. Anand Patwardhan meets on Saturdays at CFBP office to hear the complainant in person and advise them suitably in resolving the grievances...


Su Mo Tu We Thu Fr Sa